Skip to content

Recipe: Raspberry Basil Glazed Chicken and Cooking RED to Remember

November 29, 2009

Cooking RED to Remember

I started off Thanksgiving with less than a thankful heart. My in-laws live too far away. Where are we going to get money for a down payment on a house? I hate this apartment. Why am I such a horrible cook? Why do I have to be so concerned over this other thing? Why don’t we have family here?

I was put to shame by this story. This woman has one of my favorite blogs, and her personal story about losing both her brother and her cousin to AIDS destroyed me. What an incredibly strong woman. And she was exactly right when she said that no one can fully understand the loss. I can’t. I’ve never lost or even known anyone with AIDS, but I can empathize. And be thankful to that I had my ass handed to me.

I am thankful that my in-laws are so awesome, I start to miss them. I’m thankful that we weren’t laughed out of the realtor’s and have actually been pre-approved for far more than we expected. I’m thankful that we know better than to buy a house at our pre-approved amount. I’m thankful that the reasons we hate this apartment weren’t here this Thanksgiving. I’m thankful that only one spontaneous dish was just not awesome instead of horrible. I’m thankful that the other concern has no real hold over me. I’m thankful that, after slapping myself awake, I realize, again, that the two people who are always here for me are the only family I need at my table.

The chicken recipe wasn’t chosen as a dedication to Cooking RED to Remember. The pieces simply fell together. I am thankful for that, too.

Raspberry and Basil Glazed Chicken
Serves: 4 to 6

1 cup fresh raspberries, warmed on the counter
1 Tbsp fresh basil, minced (about 1 large leaf)
1/4 tsp fresh ginger, minced
1/4 tsp fresh garlic, minced
2 tsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp oil
pinch of salt

whole chicken or 4-6 leg quarters
2 Tbsp water (to keep glaze from burning in the pan)

1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Wash, pat dry with paper towels, and arrange the chicken in a baking dish. Salt lightly. Set aside.

2. Using a large spoon, mash the raspberries through a sieve or strainer into a bowl. This will take elbow grease, just stick to it! Put the pulp into cheesecloth or the like (I use these, since I don’t have cheesecloth), and squeeze out the remaining juice into the bowl. Pour the juice into a blender or food processor with the basil, garlic, ginger, sugar, soy sauce, and oil. Blend for 1 minute.

3. Baste the chicken and cook for 20 minutes covered. After that, cook for 1 hour basting every 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest for 15 minutes, covered. I hate how aluminum foil can take some of the skin away when you remove it, so I ingeniously covered the chicken with one of my massive mixing bowls.

Eat. Mmmm.

Support World AIDS Day

10 Comments
  1. November 29, 2009 10:22 pm

    Thanks so much for cooking Red to Remember. I’m going to be doing my post too.

  2. November 29, 2009 10:38 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m so humbled, and grateful. Raspberry glazed chicken is just perfect.

    • November 30, 2009 12:59 am

      I AM grateful… your story really got me out of my funk. Especially since I wasn’t just reading… I could contribute. ::hugs::

  3. November 29, 2009 11:01 pm

    This sounds amazing!

    • November 30, 2009 12:57 am

      Thank you! I hear it tastes pretty good, too… 😉

  4. November 30, 2009 6:00 am

    awww, what a touching blog post. your raspberry basil glazed chicken looks SO fancy. love it!

    • December 1, 2009 1:43 am

      Thanks! I even broke out the heirloom china for the event… was breaking out in a cold sweat whenever I heard the tang of a fork!

  5. December 1, 2009 7:05 am

    The chicken skin look really crispy. Raspberry basil glazed eh? Very interesting combo. Oh btw, I think it’s a good idea to buy your own place now. The mortgage interest is so low and its the buyers market in most cities.:)

    • December 3, 2009 3:10 am

      The chicken skin wasn’t crispy.. it was… almost candy… that sounds gross, but it was gooood.
      And yeah! I was so surprised to find out that not only could we afford a house, but we can afford a house in the town we want! I’m getting antsy in my pantsy, but we still have months. 😀

Comments are closed.

