Skip to content

Re-Purposing Carry-Out: herbs

November 1, 2009

Thai Basil

We don’t order our Asian dishes to go very often. There is something about sitting in the scent while you are eating the scent that just blows my mind each time. It’s also part of the reason that when after years of being without a Vietnamese noodle house, I walked into a noodle house to pick up my pho’ and almost burst into tears from the familiar aroma of rich grilled meats and full, soothing pho.

Once I got to enjoying my pho’ calmly slurping up each noodle from my styrafoam cup (there wasn’t a bowl to be found at work) and my hand stopped shaking from repressed joy, I realized that within that carry-out box was a treasure trove.

Thai Basil.

I have found this no where in all of my quests! It was just pure, dumb luck that I was also thinking about the ice cream in the break room kitchen that was off limits for some stupid reason it’s not like I don’t leave at least one serving in the bottom of the containers, but this also reminded me that there’s ice in freezers and that Lifehacker put up a great article on preserving fresh herbs.

Freeze them. So I did. I chopped up the basil, put a perfect tablespoon into a mini muffin tin, covered with water, and froze them. Now I have fresh-ish Thai basil whenever I want! And with the convenient location of the Vietnamese noodle house… comfort whenever I want. This can be done with any fresh herb. Just pop the servings out of the muffin tin and store in a container – in the freezer, of course.

5 Comments
  1. November 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    Great photo and brilliant idea!

    • November 4, 2009 2:18 am

      Thanks! I’m such a horrible penny pincher. Throwing it away feels so wrong. 🙂

  2. November 12, 2009 3:14 am

    This is definitely a good idea! I feel so sorry about throwing them away. I’m sure it stays longer in the freezer than in the fridge. The best thing is No Wasting!

    • November 14, 2009 4:07 am

      That is the motto over here! Waste not, want not.

  3. November 15, 2009 1:55 am

    I didn’t know that you can freeze herb with this method. Thanks to you and Lifehacker. Now I know! Really good idea. Thai basil is also pretty pricey here.

Comments are closed.

