Skip to content

Feature: Broken Meals day 5

October 8, 2009
Day 5: Dinner

Day 5: Dinner

Captain’s Log. Star date 10062009.

The crew is getting restless. I’ve found them wandering aimlessly through the kitchen. Perhaps this has gone too far. Perhaps with our ability to go 0 to 60 lightyears in 7 seconds, making it to the grocery store 3 blocks away is not so difficult. Perhaps No. 2 is correct, that it’s actually, walkable. But NO, dammit! So long as this ship is under my command, those three blocks are too far! We will not give in. We are… under orders.

Yes, this is not some unfortunate incident. I am under command to test the restraint and resolve of my men. Prepare them for the coming day when we encounter the Wrath of KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!!!

End transmission.

I am so happy to make this little dish. It’s Ground Beef with Beijing Sauce over Noodles by Jaden* at Steamy Kitchen. We never have frozen veggies lying around, but that was okay since I had some purple and green snow peas that I used instead. Interesting to find… purple snow peas dye things purple! Taste: this is a favorite. What was hiding: ground beef, noodles (I know you have tons! but these ones haven’t been used in a while), snow peas, hoisin sauce. Where were they hiding: freezer, behind other noodles, right under my nose, behind the vanilla. How long: 1 week, 2 months, 2 weeks, 3 months roundabout.

*Don’t believe that cutesy picture that says “I’m Susie homemaker… I match my dishwasher.” The woman is a nut. A funny, funny, ambitious, yummy making nut.

2 Comments
  1. October 8, 2009 6:31 pm

    I love this Broken meals series. Great fun writiing. The Star Trek inspired stories are great. (I think it’s Star Trek, but I have to admit that I don’t know much about either Star Trek or Star Wars.)

    Great Stuff:)
    Tana

    • October 10, 2009 1:20 pm

      Ooooh, you have to watch The Wrath of Khan. Shatner freaking out is absolutely hilarious!!
      Thanks!!

Comments are closed.

