Skip to content

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!!!

October 3, 2009

The ole’ digital piggy bank has run dry. Before you think “Geez, what’s the point of a cooking blog if she has nothing to cook?”, I SAY HA! I haven’t put up a recipe in weeks!

See... not bare. Unorganized. Not bare. ;)

See... not bare. Unorganized. Not bare. šŸ˜‰

Our kitchen is actually chock full of veggies, noodles, meats, and other ingredients that got lost in the back of freezers, fridges, and pantries. Food isn’t packaged for our meal sizes (when was the last time a recipe cooked for 3?) so there is always a little leftover to make it again. Only we make such a variety of foods that that some little extra may sit unused for months – like the mung bean noodles, egg noodles, soba, rice noodles, or, hell, spaghetti, penne, bowtie. I collect noodles. It’s a calling. I think I even have a pack of sweet potato noodles in there, too.

My noodle collection.

My noodle collection.

There is no way I’m showing my fridge. It’s not dirty. It’s just…. private. Some girls have diaries. I have my crisper drawer.

I’m going to document our week on grocery hiatus, taking pictures of my lunches and our dinners, and putting up a short post each day with what it is, how it tastes, where it was hiding, and for how long (if I can even remember).

We haven’t had a clear it out fest in awhile, and what better reminder than being broke to remind us to do it again! (I would prefer a reminder handed to me by my maid at 12pm when I roll out of my jersey cotton sheets on a California King memory foam bed to a breakfast of Eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed orange juice from the orchard, as I watch Hibari Kyoya keeping himself in biting condition, but what you gonna do?)

Think about doing this for yourselves sometime. It could get you to use that last little bit of whatever before it goes to waste! And tell me what you found!

That brings me to some changes that are going to happen. kitchen-OCD’s six month anniversary is coming up. Now I’m going to move things around a bit.

Changes!

  • What the buck is going to be 2 weeks in one post. This may change to once every 4 weeks, but we’ll see how this goes. It was just sucking up all my blog time and obviously I never got out anything that I wanted to. Like this week’s feature.
  • The header is going to change!
  • More pictures! This place is a bore snore. It’s going to get colored up.
  • More me! I hold back or delete things I want to say because I don’t want to offend anyone’s sense of propriety. Well, guess what, my blog, my fucking way. YAY!

That’s it and come back every day this week for Feature: Broken Meals.

2 Comments
  1. October 3, 2009 9:09 pm

    You’ve only had this blog 6 months? Me too. Well, I started mine in March.
    I like the idea of taking a break from shopping and using what you have. I do this a lot, though mostly it’s out of sheer laziness, not a conscious decision.

    • October 3, 2009 11:57 pm

      I started in mid-April. It’s very sweet that you think this blog seems more put together than 6 months (That’s what I’m taking from the statement, please don’t burst my bubble! :P)
      And lol… bum.

Comments are closed.

