Skip to content

Through Tiffany’s Lens ~ Culinary Snapshot’s Experiment

August 14, 2009

Ignore this little part if you are in the  post page! If you are on the kITCHEN OCD’s main page, the first few paragraphs didn’t really explain what the post was about, at all, and the auto excerpt isn’t working.

This is the first time contributing more than my comments to the foodie community. Excitement! The pictures that I captured for Culinary Snapshots experimental feature hopefully have that childlike OMG, I’m totally getting cookies for breakfast! feel.

End Excerpt


The thing with chocolate chip cookies for me is size. Everywhere I go everyone wants the biggest baddest cookie in town. Screw that noise. I want the smallest, tastiest, highest calorie cookie in the city! Maybe it comes from being a kid and trying that Cookie Crisp™ cereal at my mom’s friend’s house when I was like 5. It hit me like a sledgehammer that suddenly I was deprived! My mother never let me have cookies for breakfast! The nerve!

Nostalgia had me bringing a box home with me in my late teens. I am no longer nostalgic about Cookie Crisp™ cereal. And I’ve since learned that Mom wouldn’t buy it because it contains BHT. Love you, Mom!

I am still in total love with filling a bowl with crunchy bite sized cookies, covering them in milk, and going to town, though. You can’t do that with a huge cookie. You have to dunk it or be a total punk alternating between swallowing milk and chomping cookie. No – bite sized are for me.

The pictures that I captured for Culinary Snapshots experimental feature hopefully have that childlike OMG, I’m totally getting cookies for breakfast! feel. It probably helps that I actually have a kid in the shot. I don’t recommend hiring kids without a good lawyer. Her contract is brutal – $300K over the next 18 years, statistically speaking.

At first, Faye didn’t want to help me at all (it would interrupt her Pokemon time – contractual obligation), until I tossed a cookie in her lap and said, “I have bowl full of these on the table. Have at it.” That’s the shot below.

ZOMG, Im getting cookies for breakfast!!
ZOMG, I’m getting cookies for breakfast!!

Here is the mature shot. That’s fancy talk for you can’t see me with the cookie hanging out of my mouth.

Maturity Cookies for Breakfast
Maturity Cookies for Breakfast

Thank you, Kristen, for sharing that chocolate chip cookie recipe and the great feature! Hope to have more to contribute to later!!

You still have 2 days left! Visit the feature’s details and make your own contribution to the party.

Also, yeah, that’s my name up there in the title. I don’t blame you if you’ve ignored the About page. It’s a wreck.

2 Comments
  1. August 15, 2009 3:58 am

    I am totally in love with this shot. Wow – great job with this challenge and so glad you participated!!
    BTW – I love mini cookies too. For some reason, bite size cookies make me feel less guilty about eating them all 🙂

    • August 15, 2009 11:06 pm

      Thank you! – I’ve been clearing out those cookies, too… guilt free, because like you said, 3 cookies are really only 1. lol

Comments are closed.

