Skip to content

Review: Alexia Onion Strips (snack food)

August 1, 2009
Alexia Onion Strips

Alexia Onion Strips

I spent the better part of 10 minutes composing a massive hurt for these chips in my mind. I mean, first, the Alexia Onion Strips only filled about 1/4 of the bag.

A bag with a view

A bag with a view

They were a few pennies more than main stream potato chips, running at $2.66 for 4.5oz; whereas Cheetos Natural I bought are about $1.85 for 4.5 oz. So there is my hurt. It was a lot more colorful until the open bag scent lifted to my nostrils.

Heaven. Sweet onion, peppery, spice flowing up. Crunchy pieces of perfectly non-greasiness conveying said scent to grace my tongue, as well. Before I knew it, half the bag was gone and poor Mikey was on the phone, tortured by the open mouth crunching of yours truly.

We hit them hard. Had enough to show off the chips... but just barely! Yum!

We hit them hard. Had enough to show off the chips... but just barely! Yum!

They are like onion rings because the flavor is so bold and should be eaten sparingly. So here is my rundown (Out of 5*):
Initial Impression: 2
Waaay too much air in the bag.
Taste and Texture: 4
Bang for the Buck: 3
Well worth it; but it won’t last past one meal for a good sized family.
Aesthetics: 5
Seriously looks just like an onion ring!
Nutrition and ingredients: 3
Still offer the same average of chips (about 18) for the same average of calories (150), no trans-fats, no artificial preservatives, no artificial colors, understandable ingredients.
Ending Impression: 4
The taste, crunch, and smell of the Alexia Onion Strips quickly racked up the initial impression points.

Final Note: These will definitely be gracing the table of the KO family, but as with all snacks, only when the meal calls for it. It is an Alexia product, which we’re partial to and will definitely be looking forward to reviewing other Alexia products. 😛

*The ratings are against other foods in the same category. The category of the food will be mentioned in parenthesis in the post title. There is no friggin’ way I’m going to try to compare ice cream to broccoli. 😉 Also, I have a high bar set in regards to ingredients and nutrition; which is reflected in the brands I’ll review and my ratings.

What’s with all these emoticons? =:O

6 Comments
  1. squintingeyes permalink
    August 2, 2009 2:12 am

    Tiffany,
    I like your review. I wish I could try it, but I don’t think it’s available in Canada. But who knows. I’ll keep an eye on it. I hate that they tricked you with the air. But it does sound delicious because I love spicy food. Must taste good on top of salad. Good bit about the calories per 18 pieces.

    Oh what’s going on with the name? I thought you blog was called What the buck? Or maybe I have a brain fart.

    Cool Stuff,
    Tana

    • August 2, 2009 3:08 pm

      LOL, I am not the person to hold a brain fart against another! kITCHEN OCD is the blog; What the buck is the weekly featured post.

  2. kristy permalink
    August 2, 2009 12:41 pm

    Hi there, nice to meet you! That looks tasty though! Yeah, I agreed about the air! Not just this brand, I think most brands are the same! Don’t you think so?

  3. August 2, 2009 3:11 pm

    I don’t know what it is! I guess we’ve been buying the brands of the gods, but I’ve not come up against the winds of sadness in my chips lately. So it was disappointing to see such a big bag for such a small amount – but honestly – small in size, BIG ON TASTE!
    And they would be awesome on a salad.

    @Tana – Amazon ships all! http://www.amazon.com/Alexia-Crunchy-Seasoned-4-5-Ounce-Packages/dp/B0026I5HPW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1249225821&sr=8-1

Comments are closed.

