Skip to content

Recipe: Roasting Veggies a must-have easy essential

July 28, 2009
Roasted veggies - my saving grace

Roasted veggies - my saving grace

Seriously, they are my saving grace. I may have mentioned before that it was from sheer desperation that I discovered how to roast veggies. A few months ago, there were sitting in my refrigerator, a few dejected russet potatoes (yuck), dry-bendy carrots, wrinkled onions, depressed green peppers, and almost-flowering garlic. All these had been purchased with the full intent of adding vegetables to the diet with the full knowledge that this wasn’t gonna happen.

What should I do?! I couldn’t let myself see me with my vegetable drawer open! I had to think of something-fast! The oven! The oven is a good place to hide things! Yes, I’ll hide them in the oven! Then when someone turns on the oven and they get burnt to a crisp, I will have no evidence to gather against myself from that damning pile of ash! Hahaha. HAhahaha! My creative-side brain loved this idea!

Well, it’s a good thing that my sanity doesn’t reside in the same side of the brain as my creativity. It’s taken up residence next to the part that enjoys budgeting. Anyway, Sanity steps in and says, As long as it’s in the oven, why not add a little garlic and olive oil and roast it?

Good idea, Sanity! I’ve been roasting up veggies ever since. It’s a good way to try new veggies, especially root veggies. Mikey is all over parsnips and rutabaga since I gave them the old roasty-toasty business. Experiment with cuts and ingredients.

Also, red C potatoes are only about 1-1/2 inches. Red A potatoes are the size of a lady’s fist.

Essential Roasted Root Vegetables
Serves: 6

6 red C potatoes
1 small red or green pepper
1 rutabaga, peeled
2 medium carrots, peeled
1 red onion
1 parsnip, peeled
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp coarse ground fresh black pepper
1 Tbsp olive oil
8 oz hot sausage, separated into bite-size bits (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Prep the veggies by cutting them into a 1/2″ dice. It doesn’t need to be exact.
2. Put the veggies into a ungreased 9×13″ baking dish with high sides. Mix in the garlic, pepper, salt, and olive oil. Put it into the oven and roast for 45 minutes, stirring twice.
-optional-Remove from the oven and add the sausage.
Roast for an additional 45 minutes, stirring twice. When the sausage is cooked and the veggies are soft and browned, it’s ready.

Top with an sunny-side up egg for breakfast!

Comments are closed.

