Skip to content

What the buck: this week in groceries 7.25.09

July 26, 2009

This looks like it may start being a weekly feature. Dear god, I had better stick to the budget because it will be really obvious if I fail (ie spend a ulcer-inducing amount)! I’m not planning on saying much because it’s been a really dull week. Faye is going through sugar detox, so baking has halted for the moment. No, it’s not as easy as one might think, to detox a child. She wakes up every morning grumpy as hell and snarls, “Get up, mom. Play with me and make me breakfast. Now, I said.”

This may sound cute, but I used to wake to giggles and hugs and, “Good morning, mommy!” It seems she’s putting me through pleasantries detox. I hate it! Just give me one little hit of pleasant! Come on. It’s not like I need it. Just one little hug! Come on, man!

This only lasts until after breakfast, then she’s back to her adorable, sweet self. I’m going through withdrawal, too, and can barely get out of bed in the morning and randomly wander into the kitchen to sigh at my mixer. Mikey is unaffected.

Anywho! Groceries! Since it hit me how inexpensive veggies are, I moved to replace 2 meat meals with meatless meals. Mikey was onboard, so onto two of my favorite sites featuring vegan/vegetarian foods. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’ve added a link to the recipes, since I’m not thinking of changing anything to the recipes. Also, I’m really trying to be careful to not step on any toes.

__________________________________________________________

Menu:
Friday – Brinner of Roasted Hashbrowns, Sausage, and Eggs
Saturday – Hot Dogs & Fruitshakes
Sunday – Mac & Cheese Pizza / BBQ Pork Pizza
Monday – Vanishing Veggie Eggrolls
Tuesday – Broiled Teriyaki Chicken with Corn on the Cob
Wednesday – Simply Braised Spring Veggies
Thursday – Brinner of Eggs, Toast, and Fruit
_________________________________________________________

I didn’t think a What the buck? would happen this week, then after deciding to do it, I forgot and tore up all the receipts. This is what I waded through to get the 6 measly scraps I needed to puzzle together.

Paper Scraps

Paper Scraps

This is what was on those 6 measly scraps of paper (and those are the reusable produce bags in action):

Groceries 07.25.09

Groceries 07.25.09

And the answer to What the Buck is…. $65.87. Minus restock items…. $65.87.

Where the Buck was it spent… $12.67 – meats; $21.17 – produce; $9.62 – carbs; $10.69 – dairy; $11.72 – miscellaneous; $0 – restock items (items lasting more than 3 weeks)

Geez, half than previous weeks. Maybe there is something to Meatless Mondays. What will we do with all this extra dough-age? Hmmmm… I Wii-nder….

Wii Sports Resort... because its just too damn hot out

Wii Sports Resort... because it's just too damn hot out

*The groceries I buy include lunches and snacks for a 3 person family. I had a tough time finding honest comparisons to what we spent on groceries while working on our budget. Hopefully this will help people trying to get that perspective, and help others trying to get a handle on spending, like we are.

2 Comments
  1. July 27, 2009 2:19 pm

    thanks for the link to the veggie rolls. hope you enjoyed them!

    • July 27, 2009 5:14 pm

      I hope I make them okay or tonight will be coupon night on the town. Glad you don’t mind, your site is becoming a reference point whenever I don’t feel like meat…. did I just write that?
      ::world ends::

Comments are closed.

