Skip to content

Recipe: Candied Kumquat is delicious on everything

July 14, 2009

This is just going to be a little taster (haha) of what I’ve been up to since the last post over a week ago. I’ve done several things that I really like, but unfortunately I’ve been hit with a nasty case of NO-THAT’S-MINE!-itis. This has not been helped by the rash of food bloggers who’ve found their photos and entire fucking posts stolen on other sites. No, I will not post the sites or the bloggers who have been stolen from – 1. because everyone is already probably visiting the ones who were stolen from and 2. like any bloodsucking thieves, any traffic is good traffic to those who stole from them.

While in quarantine with my inter-fection (get it? internet and infection? Yeah, I got it.), I have a tasty little treat keep myself company. A tasty little treat that has actually already been completely eaten. Yeah, perhaps I made it too tasty because… No, no. I think I’m going to go this route.

I have been victimized, too! All the tasty little candied kumquats-GONE! One could even say my post was not only stolen, but eaten aliiiiiiiiiiiiiive!!! Who would do such a thing?!

Look at those shifty eyes!

This girl! (look at them shifty eyes)

At least I was able to snap a shot before they were all gone. And, yes, that’s a teaser pic as well as a display! Bwahaha.

Candied Kumquat Pinwheel on top of ???

Candied Kumquat Pinwheel on top of ???

Candied Kumquat Pinwheels
Servings: about 1 cup

Ingredients
10 kumquats
1 cup sugar

1. Place a sheet of parchment paper on two large cookie sheets so they can be easily moved out of the way or on a clean out-of-the-way counter top.
2. Cut the kumquats in half and gently squeeze out the juice into a container, seeds and all. Slice the kumquats thinly so they look like tiny wagon wheels. Lay the slices flat on a clean surface and lightly pat with a towel to get rid of just a little more juice.
3. Put the slices into a large container with a lid, add the sugar, and shake it until all the slices have been well coated with sugar. Lay the slices out on the parchment paper and let them dry for 24 hours. They may need to be turned over and left to dry for another 12 hours, if they are still a little juicy. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Use them to garnish everything or just eat them straight as candy!

Prepping the kumquat... sooo seedy!

Prepping the kumquat... sooo seedy!

Just lying around - do the dishes ya lazy bums!

2 Comments
  1. squintingeyes permalink
    July 27, 2009 4:38 am

    Wow, this stolen post thing is crazy. I’m very new to the blogging scene. That’s the first time I’ve heard. You’re candied kamquat looks really good. I never try kamquat. Does it taste like orange?

    • July 27, 2009 1:18 pm

      Kumquat rind tastes sweet then slightly bitter while the flesh is sour. It’s like a lemon/orange/grapefruit/mandarin but different. Candied kumquat is all sweet and sour with no bitter. Soooo good. I would substitute it at the movies any day.
      Yeah, lots of things seem to get taken. It seems jerks don’t realize that a person retains rights to their property even without a lawyer/corporation present.

Comments are closed.

