Skip to content

Recipe: This is Monday, right? Chicken Pot Pie with Beer!

June 20, 2009

Technically I guess this could be called Saturday, but the dog ate my week, so I’m in the clear, right?

Let me start off by saying that a comforting bowl of hot pot pie is not, not, let me say that again, NOT the dish for a steamy Texas day in the middle of June. Dear god. We were all sweating by the time we were done. I just had to make it, though.

The Baker Street Pub in our town has a delicious pot pie that inspired me to look at the comfort food differently. Now lately, I’ve been obsessed with putting beer in food as a result of my co-workers talking about beer can chicken. Why not just make beer can chicken? There it is, in the name-beer. Well, see, that would be easy, and easy is not something that follows me into the kitchen. I leave him on the couch. Hahaha! Back off! He’s mine! It just stuck and festered in my mind, this idea for beer and pot pie, until one day the fate of the god’s guided my pencil laden hand to a sheet of paper where I transcribed the words “beer, chicken, flaky pastry, flour, butter, vegetables”. And lo! a recipe was born! No kidding. I looked at myself like I was crazy. My husband certainly did, but I think he’s getting used to finding random bits of paper lying around the apartment with various food combinations on them with random thoughts tacked alongside. (The pot pie “recipe” has “Asparagus on side for FLAIR! 18 pieces!! At least!!“) The asparagus didn’t make it.

It worked out well despite all I did to stop it like not putting down a timeline for how the various parts of the recipe would be cooked. It freezes really well and as an added budgetary bonus, there was more than expected and after dinner, it ended up serving as lunch for me for two days. Score! It’s not completely homemade, but when you have a bakery that offers huge, fresh made butter croissants that are actually real – indulge. I’m calling this deconstructed just because I can.

Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie.... with Beer!

Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie.... with Beer!

Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie

Serves: 4 – 6

Ingredients
2-1/2 Tbsp unsalted butter
4 Tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup good German lager
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 Tbsp black peppercorns, coarsely crushed

1 tsp oil
5-6 cloves garlic, minced
1 sweet yellow onion, 3/4″ dice
1-1/2 lbs or 6 red C potatoes, skin on, quartered (these are only about 1-2″ diameter, regular red potatoes are larger)
2 medium carrots, peeled, 3/4″ cube
1 large celery stalk, top/bottom removed, 3/4″ dice
3/4 cup green beans, ends removed, 3/4″ pieces
8 cremini mushrooms, quartered

1lb or 2 large chicken breast, halved width-wise

4-6 butter croissants, biscuits, or rolls from a good bakery

1. In a large saucepan, melt butter on LOW-LOW heat. Whisk in flour using a spoon. Simmer until a dark caramel color, stirring frequently to check the color. (surface color and roue color will be several shades different) This will take a few minutes so go ahead and start the veggies.
2. Heat 1 tsp oil on MEDIUM in a large saute pan, add garlic and onion, cook about 30 seconds. Add potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans, and mushrooms. Lower heat and sweat until the roue is ready, stirring occasionally.
3. Preheat broiler. Salt and pepper the chicken add place on a broiler pan. Set aside.
4. Once the roue reaches a dark caramel color, slowly pour in cream stirring constantly. It will get very thick then loosen again. Be careful of steam! Add the lager and stock, stirring constantly, until all liquids are well incorporated. Add the salt, pepper, bay leaf, and the veggies and simmer for 10-15 minutes.
5. Put the chicken in the broiler until it slightly chars on the edges, then flip over and char that side. Takes about 4 minutes each side. Remove chicken from oven and cut into slices. Serve pot pie in a bowl, top with chicken, with croissant on the side.

If you’re feeling fancy, you can make the croissant/biscuit/roll yourself, but I reeeeally like the bakery croissants. There’s something about sopping up rich, buttery sauce with a rich, buttery croissant that makes my mouth happy!

Comments are closed.

