Skip to content

Wherein I attempt to make a gingerbread house

December 9, 2009

Thanks to some convoluted idea that a ginger bread house is easy peasy to make, the first gingerbread house I ever made was 1/4 gingerbread and icing, 3/4 caulking and cardboard. I was pregnant at the time and determined to have the Hallmark Christmas. The stupid thing brought me to tears and being the awesome man that he is, Mikey, immediately grabbed the offending house and tossed it out the apartment window, over the balcony, and into the wooded void. Banishment!

He is my hero.

I’ve gotten better at cooking and no longer have any of those crazy preggers hormones to get in my way! Unfortunately, my expertise with gingerbread houses only comes from eating them. So for a little guidance, I turned to Simply Recipes. And guidance she gives! The recipe is filled with the tips you would expect to get while spending a lifetime cooking with your grandmother. Which makes sense, since it is a blog filled with decades of family recipes and techniques.

If this goes wrong, I know it will of no fault of hers. And hopefully, I don’t fuck up because we no longer have a wooded void beyond our balcony.

5 Comments
  1. December 11, 2009 4:17 am

    I saw really elaborate ginger bread house on food network. But people who made them are professional. Even then, sometime they still face problem.

    • December 12, 2009 1:08 am

      Yeah! There was one with sugar glass windows… absolutely gorgeous, but it’s the guy whose gingerbread house spontaneously imploded that inspired me. If he could fail with that much grace on national television, then I can try again. :)

  2. December 16, 2009 9:57 am

    Good on you! Wish you all the best. Very much looking forward to your gingerbread house, fail or success! God bless you. And have a wonderful time. Cheers.

    • December 20, 2009 3:22 pm

      Thanks! I’m working on the post right now. Merry almost Christmas!!

  3. December 19, 2009 11:35 pm

    I’m sure you can do it Tiffany!:)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

