Skip to content

What the buck: this week in groceries 08.01.09

August 4, 2009

Short, sweet, and to the point. I’m incredibly late on this post, and my reasoning is all selfish. I spent the weekend and yesterday shooting photos of my husband. YAY! I rarely get this chance as he gets reaaally nervous in front of the camera. How did I combat it? Over the weekend, he stood against a wall for a bit each day while I cracked my awesomest jokes and took pictures. By Monday, when we ran out to the greenway to take the final pictures, he was relaxed enough to give me real smiles and one hilarious picture with a stuffed Pikachu reticent of Superman.

Sexy photo

Groceries are going to be disgustingly powerful at burning a hole in my budget this week. Last week, Faye and I subsisted on random crumbs from forgotten cereal boxes and whatever couldn’t run from us out of the crisper. Needless to say, a lot of our groceries are restock items! Sure we could have bought a few things, but trust me, there is satisfaction in knowing those green beans you had for breakfast were not only satisfying but healthy. (That’s also not happening again if I can help it! I like my toast and honey.)
__________________________________________________________

Menu:
Friday – Nacho Cheese Dip with Tortilla Chips
Saturday – Japanese Curry Rice (I highly recommend!)
Sunday – Biscuits and Gravy with Fruit
Monday – Broiled Teriyaki Chicken with Corn on the Cob
Tuesday – Pork Bulgogi, Rice, and Veggie Stir Fry
Wednesday – Meatless Spaghetti
Thursday – Broiled Teriyaki Chicken, Rice, and Veggie Stirfry
_________________________________________________________

Groceries this week of 08.01.09
Groceries this week of 08.01.09

And the answer to What the Buck is…. $114.19. Minus restock items…. $79.61.

Where the Buck was it spent… $9.87 – meats; $29.97 – produce; $15.92 – carbs; $6.28 – dairy; $17.57 – miscellaneous; $34.58 – restock items (items lasting more than 3 weeks)

Not bad!! I had to restock all my flour, some of my spices, quick lunches, and other baking stuff! For the weekly groceries I was able to stay under $80. Just barely, but I’ll take it!! I don’t mind admitting that this week had me quaking in my little space boots either.

*The groceries I buy include lunches and snacks for a 3 person family. I had a tough time finding honest comparisons to what we spent on groceries while working on our budget. Hopefully this will help people trying to get that perspective, and help others trying to get a handle on spending, like we are.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

